Archives for May 2013

Armchair BEA: Ethics & Non-Fiction

I hope everyone is having a great time with ABEA! Today we’re discussing Ethics in Book Blogging and Non-Fiction! Ethics Ethics in book blogging is something that you really learn as you go along I think. Although SOME things should be automatic (it’s surprising to me that some newbies don’t know basics) such as: ∞ […]

Armchair BEA: Giveaways & Literature

I hope everyone is having a great week so far with ABEA! I know I’m really enjoying mingling and discovering new blogs! 😀 Giveaways We have several giveaways going on at My Shelf Confessions at this time! ∞ The Bella Andre Summer of Love Beach Bag Giveaway ∞ Blog Tour & Giveaway of Blood Street […]

Armchair BEA: Blogger Development & Genre Fiction

Armchair BEA: Blogger Development & Genre Fiction

  My Blogger Development I personally don’t branch out into my community to much with my blog. Although almost everyone I know, knows I run a blog! When I meet a new person who is curious about why I have so many books or seems to like books, I will mention my blog and give […]

Armchair BEA: Introductions & Classics!

Armchair BEA: Introductions & Classics!

Hey! *waves*  Introductions Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging? My name is April, I’m the founder of My Shelf Confessions (although a little over a year ago I took on a co-blogger Tabitha the Pabkins who’s going to […]

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want To Read From 2012

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Want To Read From 2012

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish! This week is a “freebie” topic – so I decided to list a set of books I REALLY want to finally read THIS year that I got LAST year! – ~ – ~ – ~ – ~ – ~ – ~ – ~ – […]

Mailbox Madness (26)

Mailbox Madness (26)

Mailbox Madness at MSC excited to be joining The Sunday Post which is hosted by Kimba The Caffeinated Book Reviewer. April’s Mailbox   I got this lovely beach bag with all the goodies shown here this week! You can win yours! HERE The Look of Love by Belle Andre | Amazon | Goodread [A final copy! […]

Review: Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight

Review: Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight

A stunning debut novel in which a single mother reconstructs her teenaged daughter’s life, sifting through her emails, texts, and social media to piece together the shocking truth about the last days of her life. Litigation lawyer and harried single mother Kate Baron is stunned when her daughter’s exclusive private school in Park Slope, Brooklyn, […]

Shelf Reflections: Not Following My Own Advice, Eurovision & Dracula

Shelf Reflections: Not Following My Own Advice, Eurovision & Dracula

Shelf Reflections is a fun post where I let all of you in on what I do when I’m “blogging,” the various happenings around the blog, where ever my internet ADD takes me or what I’m excited about. Basically a smorgasbord of amazingtasticness. Or weirdness. Take your pick! 😀 The Confessional Let’s see. Lots to […]

Bella Andre Summer of Love Beach Bag Giveaway!

Bella Andre Summer of Love Beach Bag Giveaway!

We’re stoked to be hosting an awesome giveaway sponsored by the folks over at Media Muscle, Book Trib & Harlequin! So thanks to them! This is The Summer of Love and Bella Andre has the first three books of her Sullivans series coming out: ♥ The Look of Love (June 2013) ♥ From this Moment […]

Discussion: Adding A New Person Into An Established Blog

Yet another moment of serendipity! It just so happens Tabs and I were talking about this last night and it turns out it is the topic of this weeks Book Blogger Confessions. So here is what we came up with on what is the most important things to consider when adding a new person into […]

Mailbox Madness (25)

Mailbox Madness (25)

Mailbox Madness at MSC excited to be joining The Sunday Post which is hosted by Kimba The Caffeinated Book Reviewer. April’s Mailbox The Girl with the Iron Touch by Kady Cross | Amazon | Goodreads The Mourning Hours by Paula Treick DeBoard | Amazon | Goodread The Cambodian Book of the Dead  by Tom Vater | Amazon | Goodreads The Longings of Wayward […]

Review: Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

Review: Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead

In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she finds herself struggling to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch–a former Alchemist who escaped against all odds, and is now on the run. Marcus […]

Waiting on Wednesday: The Dark Between & The Blue Blazes

Waiting on Wednesday: The Dark Between & The Blue Blazes

Waiting on Wednesday hosted by Breaking the Spine April’s Pick A supernatural romance about the powers that lie in the shadows of the mind, perfect for fans of Sarah Rees Brennan, Alyxandra Harvey, and Libba Bray. At the turn of the twentieth century, Spiritualism and séances are all the rage—even in the scholarly town of […]

Discussion: Stale Shelves

Discussion: Stale Shelves

How long does a book have to sit on the shelf unread before it loses it’s luster of “must read” and becomes “read at some point” AKA “stale”? I was thinking about this a lot recently because of a recent Top Ten Tuesday topic (say that ten times fast!) We all have these books that […]

Mailbox Madness (24)

Mailbox Madness (24)

Mailbox Madness at MSC excited to be joining The Sunday Post which is hosted by Kimba The Caffeinated Book Reviewer. April’s Mailbox Black Venus by James MacManus | Amazon | Goodreads The Look of Love by Belle Andre | Amazon | Goodread John Dies at the End by John Woo | Amazon | Goodreads Break […]